Ogilvy on Advertising

I’m reading David Ogilvy’s book about advertising. Published in 1983, it’s about as current as Beowulf, but interesting if only as a reminder of how many tits used to appear on billboards. In France and Germany, they were everywhere (and maybe still are? I’m not sure.) Being an advertising creative must have been so easy in those days. Trying to flog a moisturiser? Let’s see… How about a picture of a pretty lady with no top on? Want to sell more deodorant? Let’s see…

This one’s my personal favourite. The strapline translates as, ‘On 2 September, I will take off the top.’

The second reads, ‘On 4 September I’ll take off the bottom.’

And as the third says, she keeps her promises. I’ve no idea what it’s selling.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under The bits I can't think of a category for, What I'm reading...

Leave a Reply

