From Shoreditch to Sussex

And so we’ve moved. Hence the radio silence. Well, that and a rotten cold. But I won’t bore you with that, the only thing more boring than other people’s illnesses being other people’s dreams.

So moving, yes. It was two weeks from making the decision to move to being in the new place, which I think is some sort of record. Is that a record? I dunno, it’s been so long since I last moved maybe these days that’s average, but it feels pretty bloody quick to me.

The new place is a five-bed, 18th-century lodge nestled in a South Downs village, which, hilariously, is about £400 a month cheaper than our 700sq ft, one-bed flat in Shoreditch. It’s a big change, obviously (no streetlights, nothing open on Sundays, and the silence is deafening), but I’m throwing myself into country life, to the point of making apple crumble with fruit picked from the garden (I know, I know). That said, I’ve a horrible feeling I’m simply playing out a role, like Madonna in her lady-of-the-manor phase. I told Misha that I was looking forward to my inappropriate-toyboy phase, but he didn’t find it very funny.

On Sunday I took Emilio to the Apple Festival (more apples – I think this is what they mean by embracing the seasons.) This was better than it sounds, with a fairground and petting zoo alongside the morris dancers and cider/hog-roast stands, and an impressive turnout thanks to the nice weather. It was all a bit Birkenstock, as these things are wont to be, but I particularly liked Mouse Town, an olde-worlde shopping street populated by mice:

The place was chock-full of Boden children, barefoot and facepainted. I know this was when I was supposed to feel all smug for taking my son from the polluted urban jungle and bringing him to this green, wholesome place, but instead I kept worrying that he won’t grow up to be an urban sophisticate, but some earnest, fleece-wearing type, who thinks Brighton’s a big city and juggling an acceptable career choice.

3 Comments

Filed under General rants and moans, Kids, parenting... Non-mums may want to move along, The bits I can't think of a category for

3 responses to “From Shoreditch to Sussex

  1. livingitlittle

    Congratulations on the move. I can empathise a little. We moved from London (Islington) when our eldest was a few weeks old. To be fair, we moved to York, not the countryside, but it stil felt VERY different to London and I too worried that our kids would grow up with a small town mentality. Anyway, we’re still here almost six years later and I wouldn’t want to move back to London now. Well done on making the move and hope you’re really happy there.

    • Thank you! So far we love it, but then it doesn’t feel like we live here yet – more that we’re on holiday in someone’s big posh house. x

  2. Congratulations! That was so quick! We’re making our more permanent move to the country house of dreams on Saturday and I am very excited. Mostly because I am using this as an excuse to buy a Barbour jacket.

    I’m hoping my children will grow up sophisticated as I am still so in love with London and we are only 30 minutes away. Plus there is no way any fleeces will be permitted in my house x

Leave a Reply

